I miss you.

How can you miss someone that you have never met?
How? Surly you never knew them so there’s nothing to miss. No fond memories that haunt you before you sleep. No voice to remember. Not even A significant smell you associate with that person. You may think you can’t miss someone that you have never met, but I do.

My Grandad died 19 years ago today. He died long before I was born. My brother and sister remember him. I’ve heard countless stories of their memories of him. I don’t have any. I never knew him. Never met him. But I miss him.

I miss him. I hate the fact that he went before his time. I hate the fact that I never saw him. He never saw me. He never knew my mum would have another child. But I miss him. I wish so badly that I could have met him. Just one little memory of my own to hold on to. But I don’t have that and I never will. That’s just a fact of life I live with. Many people live with. My niece will never meet that amazing man I’ve heard so many things about.

However, I know he’s somewhere looking down on us. On me. Keeping us safe. I love him, I’ve never met him or heard his voice but I love him. He’s my grandad no matter where he is and I hope he reads this and he knows how much I miss him.

Now, sorry for that but I had to do something. 19 years is a long time. Smile…it won’t hurt you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

