Day 4

Your views on religion.

I myself am not religious in the regular meaning o the word. I don’t conform to any particular religion but do take aspects of a few. ‘Love thy neighbour’ from Christianity for an example. And the peace and self love/respect aspect of Buddhism. I mean I do meditate too and I have prayed before but mainly I’m atheist. I respect anyone and everyone that has a religion. ‘Everyone has to believe in something’ is something that I truly believe. I believe that spirits/ghosts/souls or whatever you want to think are all around us and watch over us.

Smile…it won’t hurt you 🙂

4 thoughts on “Day 4

    • A belief can be anything, from a religion to believing in yourself. As long as you have a belief then you can do anything. By this I didn’t mean that everyone should have a religion just that people have their own view on the world and how it came about. If you strongly believe in idea then it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks.

      • Excellent. “Belief” is a funny word so I was curious to hear what you thought about it.

        To me, reality and truth is not an idea at all. And “belief” I think means a sort of attachment or clinging we have to an idea, which is the beginning of insanity. Like believing the word (idea of) “steak” on a dinner menu is actually something to eat.

        We often hear “you’ve got to stand for something” which seems a bit odd to me. Life isn’t standing, it’s moving, flowing, always changing.

        Could it be that the notion that everyone must believe something is akin to religions which think “everyone should believe what we believe”? In the sense that it is also pushing the idea that you ought to believe something. They may try to leave it open ended with a “I don’t care what you believe, just believe something” but it is still the same guiding principle.

        I’m not meaning to propose these statements as things I believe or to believe or not believe, but ideas to explore, to play with.

        What do you think?

  1. I think its so nice for someone to 1.leave a comment (an intelligent one at that) and 2. Wish to have a deep meaningful discussion.

    I do agree with the majority of your points. I hate how humans have developed an association between the word “belief” and religion as an idea.

    Referring to having to stand for something, I do ‘believe’ (sorry for the term) in that. Yes, life is constantly changing but the metaphorical idea of standing is used to reinforce the passion one has for a particular subject rather than literally standing.

    I don’t think that people should force others to agree with their views but we do not live in a perfect world and for that I am sorry. It would be nice to live harmoniously however in this society it is near impossible. The world is flawed but there is still beauty and purity in imperfect people.

Leave a Reply

