‘Tis the season

4 days until the big day. No I am not prepared. No, I’m not really that excited. Is it an age thing? A stress thing? A weather thing…I mean COME ON! It’s four bloody days until Christmas and the temperature of the UK is at a disappointedly high 12 degrees. Its supposed to be snowing, it is the season to be jolly but how can I when people are running into you, too self-absorbed with their frantic last minute shopping, to notice that yes I am an actual person with actual pain-receptors in the arm you just barged into.

I went into my local city today to get presents for the N-Children.Β ( N-Children: A collective noun I created as there is no word for an aunties or uncles nieces and nephews. Think about it, grandparents have granddaughters and grandsons-known as grandchildren. But there was not a word to describe my sisters off spring. ) As you would expect four days before Christmas it was packed full with people. I lost count of how many people walked into me or impatiently tutted and sighed at me. I’m sorry but when you’re in a fairly small shop with a queue the whole length of said shop, no I cannot move out of your way as there is a human barrier surrounding me.

My faith in humanity was however restored on my journey home when a little (I am aware that stereotypically old women are described as small but she was okay?!) old lady began chatting to me excitedly about her Christmas plans. Manners, kindness and lending an ear cost nothing. I thoroughly enjoyed talking to her and I had a smile on my face all the way home. Its the little things that make you see that for all the negativity in the world, there is so much positivity too. πŸ™‚

Smile…It wont hurt you πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

